Shortlisted Finalists Announced for 2019 Lycetts Team Champion Award

December 19th 2018

Lycetts and The National Trainers Federation (NTF) are delighted to announce the two shortlists for the 2019 Lycetts Team Champion Award.

Lycetts and The National Trainers Federation (NTF) are delighted to announce the two shortlists for the 2019 Lycetts Team Champion Award.

Lycetts Team Champion Award celebrates the racehorse training yards that have developed a strong team ethos through the highest standards of staff management and safe working practices. There are more details on the NTF website at this link:

The award has two categories – one for yards with 40 or more horses; and one for yards with fewer than 40 horses. The shortlists (in alphabetical order) are:

40+ horses
Andrew Balding
Tom Dascombe
Warren Greatrex
Richard Hughes

Fewer than 40 horses
Nick Alexander
Dan Kubler
Jedd O’Keeffe
Richard Phillips

Through the scoring of assessment criteria, nominating yards that reach a sufficient number of points earn a star rating: 1 represents good team ethos and staff engagement; 2 is very good; and 3 is excellent. All the shortlisted yards were awarded 3-star status. Competition was extremely strong and the standard of nominations very high resulting in a higher proportion of 3-star nominations than in the inaugural award last year. A full list of star-rated yards will appear on the NTF and Racing Groom websites shortly.

The judges would like to emphasise how impressed they were with the very high standard of nominations demonstrating the transformation of management practices in racing yards.

Yogi Breisner, Chairman of the judging panel, commented, “It’s been a real pleasure to be involved with Lycetts Team Champion Award again, and it’s great to see the progress from last year and also some very exciting new applications.”

Laura Whyte, former Director of HR at John Lewis, commented “There were some very strong entries this year and it was good to see some of the yards build on their submissions from twelve months ago. I’m really looking forward to our yard visits!”

In the next phase of the award, the judges will visit the shortlisted yards during January 2019 to meet the team members and get first-hand experience of the practices that have been described in the first stage nominations. The winners will be announced on 28th February 2019 at a ceremony at the prestigious headquarters of the Institute of Directors.

Charlie Douglas

View Profile

Share Online

Our People

We provide our clients with more than just insurance solutions.

Our experienced staff understand your needs.

Previous Next
Charles Foster 3

Charles Foster

Chief Executive

Christopher Cox 3

Christopher Cox


Simon Harper 3

Simon Harper


William Barne 3

William Barne


Nick Straker 3

Nick Straker