Lycetts Financial Services

Individual Savings Accounts (ISAs)

Individual savings accounts (ISAs) are tax-free savings accounts, with expert advice about them available here at Lycetts. Cash ISAs are completely exempt from tax, and all capital gains and income within a stocks and shares ISA are also exempt from tax, apart from the 10% tax credit on UK dividend income; this cannot be reclaimed.

ISAs were introduced in 1999 to replace PEPs and TESSAs. You can use an ISA to save in cash, usually via a bank, or invest in stocks and shares either via a unit trust, OEIC or directly into shares via a self-select ISA.


From 1 July 2014 a new, simpler product, the ‘New ISA’ (NISA), became available, with a current annual allowance of £15,240. Details of these product are as follows:


• The £15,240 limit (2015/16 tax year) can be invested wholly in cash, stocks and shares or any combination of the two.

• There is now a ‘two-way street’ in that ISAs can be transferred from cash to stocks and shares and vice versa without restriction. When you transfer an ISA, your full ISA allowance for that tax year remains unaffected.

• Since April 2015, the spouse or civil partner of a deceased ISA saver can benefit from an additional ISA allowance, and therefore have more of their savings tax advantaged. Individuals can save an additional amount in an ISA (or ISAs), up to the value of their spouse or civil partner’s ISA savings at the date of death, without this amount counting against their normal ISA subscription limit.

Get in touch

We’ve offices located all across the United Kingdom

And we’re always available for you by telephone or email whenever and wherever you need us.

Contact our expert directly or alternatively complete your details below to contact the team.

Christopher Booth


Contact Christopher Contact The Team

*Required fields

*Required fields

Have you thought about...

It is not always appropriate to gift assets either directly to a beneficiary or into a Trust.

read more

As independent financial advisers, Lycetts has access to the whole market to find the most...

read more

Lycetts has extensive experience in dealing with investors looking to take advantage of...

read more

Lycetts Private Client insurance division is founded on unrivalled personal service and...

read more

Our People

We provide our clients with more than just insurance solutions.

Our experienced staff understand your needs.

Previous Next
Simon Landale 3

Simon Landale


Clayton Kopko 3

Clayton Kopko

Systems Manager

Linda Wheatley 3

Linda Wheatley

Independent Financial Adviser

Rebecca Smith 3

Rebecca Smith

Para Planner

Ros Beddie 3

Ros Beddie

Pension Administrator

Lycetts Insights

Lycetts Insights provides updates on topical issues and key events.

Read more about developments both in insurance and at Lycetts.

Farmers warned to comply with fire insurance policy wording

July 21, 2017

Insurers are reacting to the number of claims due to fire which have devastated both bale stacks and the barns in which they are kept. As a result the terms of many fire insurance policies have changed with a greater onus on farmers to take steps to reduce the risk of fire. Failure to do this may result in an invalid claim.

read more

Lycetts at The Festival of Hunting 2017

July 9, 2017

Lycetts is the headline sponsor for the 2017 Festival of Hunting for the second year running as part of our ongoing partnership with the East of England Agricultural Society who organise this prestigious event in the hunting calendar.

read more


Our Offices

  • Newcastle

  • Edinburgh

  • Exeter

  • London

  • Marlborough

  • Newmarket

  • Norfolk

  • Oxford

  • Shropshire

  • Surrey

  • Sussex

  • Yorkshire